English Language Text Files

This forum is for those of you who are interested in localizing the game text in Capitalism Lab into your native language on your own
foxtrotf
Level 2 user

English Language Text Files

Post by foxtrotf »

Hello guys! Could you please how can I extract original English Language files?
I want to have English UI, with only tootips translated, I guess only (help.txt)
torajiro
Translation Contributor
Translation Contributor

Re: English Language Text Files

Post by torajiro »

I am a Japanese translator.
You want to make an English version with only the tooltips translated?
You can just translate help.txt and gmhelp.txt.

But that may not be enough to translate all tooltips.
To complement it, you need to create a "translate.txt" file with the English text and the translated text.

There is probably no way to extract all English text file.
(If you have no need for translate.txt, you do not need to read this bottom.)
As for Japanese, I transcribed the English on the game screen directly into a text file.
I think I also used OCR software.
foxtrotf
Level 2 user

Post by foxtrotf »

Thank you torajiro for the Help!
Now I start to understand... The problem is, that there is already translation, but a lot of UI labels, captions and titles are way too long, so they are not fitting the screen. This is the one of the reasons, why I'm decided to make some modification to existing translation. Just for myself to play with english UI and only tooltips translated.
I left only as you mention help.txt and gm_help.txt, but also t_game.txt, as it is, how I understand is essential, without it I'm unable to select language in options. But a lot of such long label/captions are in t_game.txt and translate.txt, that why I asked about english version, because I just don't know how not to override them and config properly.
torajiro
Translation Contributor
Translation Contributor

Post by torajiro »